HomeIndustryMunson new vice-chair of senate's fisheries committee

Munson new vice-chair of senate’s fisheries committee

Former broadcaster Jim Munson is the new vice-chair of the Senate Committee on Fisheries and Oceans.

The job became vacant with the retirement of P.E.I. senator Libbe Hubley in September. Munson reported on current affairs for more than 30 years, most notably as a bureau chief and foreign correspondent for CTV News. He was twice nominated for a Gemini award in recognition of excellence in journalism.

In 2001, following his career as a reporter, Munson joined the Prime Minister’s Office as a communications advisor and was made director of communications the following year. He was called to the senate on Dec. 10, 2003 to represent the province of Ontario and served as whip of the senate Liberal caucus from 2008 to 2016.

The committee is chaired by Newfoundland and Labrador Conservative Fabian Manning.  Other members of the committee include independent senators Dan Christmas (Nova Scotia), Éric Forest (Quebec-Gulf), Marc Gold (Quebec-Stadacona), Nancy J. Hartling (New Brunswick), Elaine McCoy (Alberta), and Murray Sinclair (Manitoba); Conservative senators Tobias C. Enverga (Ontario), Thomas J. McInnis (Nova Scotia), Donald Neil Plett (Manitoba-Landmark), Rose-May Poirier (New Brunswick-Saint-Louis-de-Kent), and Nancy Greene Raine (British Columbia-Thompson-Okanagan-Kootenay).